inthemakeup

Archive for October 25th, 2008|Daily archive page

Sharon Dowsett

In Interview With The Artist on October 25, 2008 at 3:53 am

Sharon Dowsett is one of Europe’s leading freelance makeup artists. Her credits include shows for Alexander McQueen, Balenciaga, Issey Miyake and Roland Mouret; Vogue, Harpers, Bazaar and W magazines; Chanel, Bottega Veneta, Guerlain, Lancôme, Garnier, Hugo Boss and D&G ad campaigns; and celebrities including Hilary Swank, Renee Zellweger, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Sophie Dahl, Kate Moss.

Sharon’s portfolio can be viewed at www.clmuk.com

Q&A

What is in your kit?

Some of my faves are: C- Thru Lipglass, Crushed Bougainvillea Cream Color
Base, Auto de Blu Amethyst Technakohl Liner and Mink Brow Set… but I
never go anywhere without Pro Lash Mascara in Coal Black, (usually at
least two new tubes) and I carry Medium Blot Powder on my person the whole
time. Smolder Kohl Pencil is a must and I’d be lost without my Face & Body
Mixing Medium. I suppose I’d need Gloss, Lip Conditioner, Lip Mix
(Scarlet) or Lip Pencil (Spice) to actually do a whole makeup, but the
choice would depend on the situation.

How do you plan your designs and become inspired?

Talk to the team or ask for a brief beforehand.
Consult thesaurus with description and reference (if any).
Visit art galleries and beautiful places on a regular basis.
Observe the everyday and mundane for color, texture, shape and
combinations. Look for original and relevant prompts.
Ensure kit is sorted! Preparation allows the process to evolve naturally
and creativity can happen spontaneously.
Design happens on the day as dependent on the face and what else is going on.

When did you become interested in makeup?


When I was six… My Mum actually let me wear it to school. I remember
that the teachers weren’t too happy but my Mum was my makeup hero. I loved
those bright blue and green eye shadows that she wore from lash to brow.
She still inspires me.

What was your most challenging job?


Doing the Ungaro show and collaborating on a collection at the same time!
Backstage at shows you have to focus on fast application and think ahead
whilst being interviewed, so your attention is split. Added to which, I
put myself under pressure to create a make-up look that the designer
Esteban would love, and that may have a future in product form (in 60
countries!). Fortunately everyone at M.A.C Product Development knows what
they’re doing and were incredibly encouraging and calm. Gordon Espinet and
the Pro Team were also supportive and hardworking, giving input and
feedback along the way.
In any case, I find the most challenging jobs are always the most rewarding!

Do you have any words of Wisdom?


“What we hope to do with ease we must learn first to do with diligence” Dr
Samuel Johnson.
Fingers need limbering up and messages from the brain take a while to get
through.
Practice really does make perfect.
Be yourself but be professional.